Annual Research Review - 2023

The Annual Research Review of the National Institute of Fundamental Studies (NIFS), Sri Lanka was held on 28th March 2024 at the Prof. Cyril Ponnamperuma Auditorium, NIFS, Kandy.

Prof. Janaka Ekanayake, Senior Professor of Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, University of Peradeniya graced the inaugural session as the chief guest. The welcome address was delivered by Prof. Saluka Kodituwakku, Director of the NIFS.  Prof. Athula Sumathipala, Chairman of the Board of Governors of the NIFS also addressed the gathering. The Chaiman of the organizing committee of the event Prof. N. Marikkar delivered the vote of thanks, acknowledging all those who supported to make this event a success.

After the inaugural session, the keynote address of the event was delivered by Prof. Ajith De Alwis, Senior Professor in the Department of Chemical and Process Engineering, University of Moratuwa. Prof. Meththika Vithanage, Founder Director of the Ecosphere Resilience Research Center, University of Sri Jayewardenepura gave the guest of honor speech addressing the young budding scientists in an exciting way pointing out the importance of research publications and ethics. The three technical sessions covering all areas of research were held immediately after the lunch break. During the technical sessions, scientists of the NIFS presented the progress made in their respective research projects during the year 2023. The first technical session was co-chaired by Prof. Athula Sumathipala and Prof. A.Kulasooriya, the second technical session was co-chaired by Prof. G. Seneviratne and Prof. C.L. Abayasekara, and the third technical session was co-chaired by Prof. Siril Wijesundara and Prof. B.M.R. Bandara. The event was concluded with the final remarks by the Director of NIFS, Prof. Saluka Kodituwakku.

During the Annual Research Review 2023, several awards were presented to the academic and non-academic staff of NIFS appreciating their performance in research and contribution towards the institute. In addition, awards and certificates were given away for three NIFS researchers who were ranked among the top 2% scientist’s category in the world.  For the research assistants’ category, three medals were awarded for research excellence and certificates were also presented for their outstanding research contribution. The following are staff members who were presented with awards and certificates for their contributions in 2023.

Top 2%Scientists in NIFS 

  • Prof. Laskhman Dissanayake
  • Prof. Gamini Seneviratne
  • Prof. Suresh Benjamin

Most Outstanding Researchers 2023

  • Prof. U.L.B. Jayasinghe - Senior Research Professor Category
  • Prof. R. Weerasooriya - Research Professor Category
  • Prof. D.N. Magana-arachchi - Associate Research Professor Category
  • Dr. H.W.M.A.C. Wijayasinghe - Senior Research Fellow / Research Fellow Category

Research Excellence Awards 2023 for the Scientists

  • Prof. J. Bandara   
  • Prof. L. Dissanayake 
  • Dr. L. Jayaratne              
  • Prof. G.R.A. Kumara
  • Prof. R. Liyanage             
  • Prof. R. Rathnayake
  • Prof. G. Seneviratne         
  • Prof. S. Wijesundara

Research Excellence Awards for Research Assistant Category

  • Ms. T.M. Paranavithana – Gold medal winner
  • Ms. M. Wickramasinghe – Silver medal winner
  • Ms. T. Bowange – Bronze medal winner 

Scientific Publication Awards for Research Assistants

  • Ms. S.N. Bandara         
  • Mr. S. Ekanayake
  • Ms. C.J. Bandara                              
  • Ms. K. Samarakoon
  • Ms. B.M. Premarathne                     
  • Mr. A. Madagedara 

Thirty Year Service Awards for Non-academic Staff

  • Mr. G.P.A.K. Pathirana – Chief Technical Officer
  • Ms. D.M. Aluthpatabendi – Chief Technical Officer

Photo Album