Annual Research Review 2019

The Annual Research Review of the National Institute of Fundamental Studies (NIFS), Sri Lanka was held on 30th July 2020 at the Prof. Cyril Ponnamperuma Auditorium, NIFS, Kandy. Mr. Anura Dissanayake, Secretary of the Ministry of Higher Education, Technology & Innovation graced the occasion as the Chief guest and Mr. Chinthaka S. Lokuhetti, the Secretary, of the State Ministry of Technology & Innovation as the guest of honour. The welcome address was delivered by the Director of NIFS, Prof. Saman Seneweera. The Chairman of the board of Governors of NIFS Prof. Athula Sumathipala, The Guest of Honour Mr. Chinthaka Lokuhetti and the Chief Guest Mr. Anuara Dissanayake also addressed the gathering.  The Chairman of the organising committee of the event Prof. Gamini Seneviratne delivered the vote of thanks, acknowledging all those who supported to make the event a success.

The keynote address of the event was delivered by Prof. Brajesh Singh, the Director of the Global Centre for Land-Based Innovation of Western Sydney University, Australia on Microbial regulation of terrestrial ecosystem functions: microcosm to globe via Google meet. During the technical sessions that followed, scientists of NIFS presented the progress made in their respective research projects during the year 2019. The technical sessions were chaired by Prof. Athula Sumathipala, Prof Rathnayake Bandara and Prof. Saman Seneweera.  The event was concluded with final remarks by the session chairpersons.

A special highlight of the day was the opening of the Center for Advanced Research on Nitrogen Management in Agriculture (CARNMA), and Center for Water Research by the Chief guest Mr. Anura Dissanayake. Several awards were also presented to academic and non-academic staff of NIFS appreciating their performance and contribution towards research and the institute. The following staff members were presented with awards for their contributions in year 2019.

Most Outstanding Researchers 2019

  • Dr. Renuka Ratnayake - Research Fellow / Senior Research Fellow Category
  • Prof. Suresh Benjamin - Associate Research Professor Category
  • Prof. Rohan Weerasooriya - Research Professor Category
  • Prof. Lalith Jayasinghe - Senior Research Professor Category

Research Publication Excellence - 2019

  • Dr. Gayan Bowatte
  • Prof. Saman Seneweera
  • Prof. Jayasundera Bandara
  • Dr. Ruvini Liyanage
  • Dr. Chathuni Jayathilake
  • Ms. Rizliya Visvanathan
  • Prof. Rohan Weerasooriya

Outstanding Work Performance Awards

  • Mr. Gamage Ariyarathne
  • Mr. Viraj Ekanayake
  • Mr. Delange Gedara Gunathilaka
  • Mr. Supun Kuruppuarachchi
  • Mr. Chanaka Lekamge
  • Mr. Anura Pathirana
  • Mr. Ranjith Peiris
  • Ms. Chandani Ranasinghe
  • Mrs. Sujeewa Sakalasooriya
  • Mr. Somananda Molagoda
  • Mrs. Chandrika Tilakaratne

Service Award

  • Mr. Mahesh Kulatunga

Winners of the Year 2018/2019 - Open Science Circle in Electronic Media

  • Gold Medal - Mr. Rosheen Fernando
  • Silver Medal - Mr. Peshala Karunarathna
  • Bronze Medal - Miss. Nayanaththara Sapugoda
YouTube Live Streamed video playlist
Annual Research Review Report
View event photos launch